Auto Insurance in Texas
Having auto insurance is very important and is a state law no matter where you live. At Carruth Insurance in Montgomery, TX, we can help you get insured. There are many policy choices, and we can help you choose the perfect one that fits your needs. However, you should plan on meeting the minimum state requirements for insurance if you plan on settling with liability. Consequences will follow for those drivers who do not maintain insurance and are pulled over or involved in an accident. This can definitely cause a financial strain.
What are the state laws in Texas regarding auto insurance?
Texas requires drivers to meet minimum liability coverage for their vehicles. All drivers must at least have $30,000 of coverage for injuries for each person with a total of $60,000 per accident. Drivers must also have at least $25,000 in coverage for property damage. This coverage is also known as the 30/60/25 policy. For a first offense alone, you can face a fine anywhere between $175 to $350 if caught without insurance.
What coverage options are available?
You can choose from any of the following additional coverage options for your vehicle:
- Medical payments
- Customized parts and equipment coverage
- Personal injury protection
If you want to ensure that you and your passengers are protected, consider adding uninsured motorist coverage to your policy. This will pay for the costs of injuries for both you and your passengers if involved in an accident. This would only become valid if the other driver is not insured. Underinsured motorist coverage provides the same thing, except it is only valid if the other driver does not have enough insurance coverage.
If you live in or near Montgomery, TX, and are on the market for auto insurance, visit our Carruth Insurance office or give us a call for a quote today. You can also find more information regarding our policies by phone or email.